Museum of History and Art
Includes permanent exhibits
of the Gold Rush Era. (907) 343-6173.
Fairbanks Gold Company Mining
Museum and Gold Works
The museum features displays on placer mining, old mining
equipment, a video on gold dredges in Fairbanks and a collection
of Ice Age bones discovered while gold mining. You can also
learn how to pan for gold. (907) 457-6058.
Alaska Museum of Natural
Enjoy the collection, entitled "Alaska's Gold Rush:
Yesterday. . .and Today!" Explore Treasures of the Great
Land, Handtools of the Gold Rush, Tales Our Grandparents Told,
and Walter Erickson's Mining Inventions, (including a working
scale model of his mining equipment) in downtown Eagle River.
Independence Mine State Historical
With 83 mining claims, Independence Mine was the largest
producer in the Willow Creek mining district. Tour historic
buildings, mill ruins, and the tunnel entrance. Independence
Mine is on the National Register of Historic Places. (907)
Crow Creek Pass Trail
In the early 1900s, the Crow Creek Pass Trail took prospectors
from the northern shore of Turnagain Arm to Knik and then
on to the gold strikes at Iditarod and all the way to Nome.
Allow about 2.5 hours to hike part of the Iditarod National
Historic Trail to the ruins of an old gold mine and Raven
Glacier on your way to the pass. Get a real feel for this
gold rush country by hiking the 22.5 miles from Crow pass
to the Eagle River Nature Center, north of downtown Anchorage.
The original town
site was founded on Turnagain Arm near the mouth of Glacier
Creek. The March 27, 1964 earthquake, measuring 8.2 on the
Richter scale, caused considerable damage along Turnagain
Arm. The quake dropped the entire plain bordering the sea
by several feet, allowing high tide to soak the area. Residents
soon relocated inland to a drier location.
Crow Creek Mine
Open May-September, Crow Creek
Mine is the last remaining 1898 Gold Rush placer mine in the
area. Look through eight of the mine's original buildings,
which are on the National Register of Historic Places. Pan
in the same creek where many struck gold. (907) 278-8060.
The Resurrection Pass Trail
What is now the Resurrection Pass Trail once was the main
route for the fortune seekers landing in Seward's Resurrection
Bay. They traversed this wilderness trail to reach claims
in the Turnagain Arm area or continued on a small boat across
Turnagain Arm and followed the trail to Knik, Iditarod, and
even to Nome. Today, this scenic 38-mile trail leads you up
to an elevation of 2,600 fee and gradually down to the Sterling
Highway. Experienced hikers can finish in three days, while
more leisurely hikers should plan on five days.
two dredges (one with a tour) and a real gold-era ghost town (again with a tour). There will
soon be the remains of a third dredge (the Jack Wade dredge is being dismantled in summer of 2007 and historic pieces will be moved to Chicken to be
displayed). There is also gold panning and recreational mining, one of the
few places in the State that is accessible by road that offers these attractions.
(June - September) Prospectors
discovered gold along Birch Creek in 1891, and a rush to the
area occurred three years before the Klondike discovery. There
are still miners working along the creeks in the area. The
museum has an excellent collection of mining equipment, a
restored and outfitted miner's cabin, and a gold display.
The visitor's center has several
different programs to choose from. Visitors can pan for gold
with the help of volunteers in Gold Rush era costumes.
George I. Ashby Memorial
(June - September) Housed in a rustic log cabin, the museum
gives visitors a look at the Copper River Valley's past. Exhibits
include early mining of gold and copper and information about
the unfortunate prospectors who tried to take the Valdez Glacier
"All-Alaska" Trail to the Klondike gold fields in
The town was the terminus of
the Copper River and Northwestern Railway that hauled the
rich copper ore from the Kennecott Mine to steamships for
transport to the smelter at Tacoma, Washington. The museum
has exhibits and programs about the copper mines and the railroad.
It is also possible to drive to the Million Dollar Bridge,
where the railroad crossed the Copper River at the point where
several glaciers terminate.
Jack London's Cabin
(May 19 - September 21) Interpretive Centre and Displays
Klondike National Historic
- Palace Grand Theatre.
(Mid May - Mid September) Replica of the original theatre
built by Arizona Charlie Meadows in 1899.
- Old Post Office.
Built in 1901, mail drop and stamp sales.
- Robert Service Cabin.
Home of the renowned poet Robert W. Service. Recitations
at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m.
- Bear Creek Complex.
Visit the shop complex and community that supported the
Klondike gold dredges from 1905 to 1966. Located 11 miles
(6.8 km) from town.
- Dredge #4. Explore
this massive machine, the largest wooden hulled, bucket-lined
dredge in North American. Located at km 12.3 (mi. 7.8) Bonanza
The Big Delta Historic District
is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
of Eagle City
The entire town of 160 residents
is a major attraction and much of the atmosphere of the early
community remains. The original courthouse, customs house,
and five of the Fort Egbert buildings have been restored and
now house related museum exhibits which contain many unusual,
interesting artifacts. The permanent mining exhibit includes
original equipment used by early miners and prospectors for
"drift mining." A large collection of photographs
tell the story of the 1898 Danish prospectors who blasted
out a mountain to get only two miles of dry bedrock on the
Fortymile River. Many original houses still remain and are
in use. This historic district is a National Historic Landmark.
Gold Panning at Historic
(Summer) Experience the excitement of gold panning at
the famous, historic, gold camp at nearby Ester, at the El
Dorado Gold Mine, and at Gold Dredge No. 8. There are reminders
of the Gold Rush era at Fox, Chena, Olnes, Chatanika with
remains of old mining camps. Ester, Gold Dredge No. 8, and
Chatanika are listed in the National Register of Historic
Fairbanks Community Museum
The summer exhibits feature gold mining from past to present.
University of Alaska Museum
(Year-round) Many of the fossils and artifacts collected
by Otto Geist are displayed at the University of Alaska Museum.
Many were discovered as a result of gold dredging activities.
William H. Seward
Of the six Army posts opened around Alaska during the
Gold Rush, this one retains the most historic integrity. The
parade ground, the officers' quarters, and warehouses have
been designated a National Historic Landmark. Several of the
buildings are hotels, several are bed and breakfast establishments,
and others are gift shops.
Sheldon Museum and Cultural
The museum interprets the history
of the Chilkat Valley. Exhibits describe the Dalton Trail,
an overland freight route used before and during the Klondike
Gold Rush as an alaternative to the Chilkoot Trail. (907)
(Memorial Day to Labor Day) The museum has exhibits about
the Gold Rush in the Turnagain Arm area that preceded the
great Klondike strike in 1896. A volunteer studied the site
of the abandoned supply town of Sunrise and did restoration
work on its cemetery. Instructions to visit the site, which
is on private property, can be obtained at the Hope Museum.
The town of Hope is listed in the National Register of Historic
The historic crossroad for numerous
trails accessing placer gold mines on Willow Creek. Take the
scenic 15-mile gold trail to Little Willow Creek on the west
side of Independence mine. The trail leads to the heart of
the Willow Creek mining district. Today, the area is popular
for its recreational opportunities and scenic beauty. Additional
trails may be accessed at the end of the Houston trail, taking
the visitor into ghost towns of hard rock gold mines. Make
inquiries at the Museum of Alaska Transportation and Industry.
Juneau-Douglas City Museum
(March - December) The museum has an introduction to the
large Juneau Gold Belt stretching 40 miles north and south
of Juneau and exhibits on mining in Juneau and Douglas. (907)
Last Chance Basin Mining
Special tours can be arranged for a donation to the Gastineau
Channel Historical Society. The setting is very picturesque
at the base of Snow-Slide Gulch. The tour includes access
to the Last Chance Basin Mining Museum located in the old
compressor building of the Jualpa Mine Camp. (907) 586-5338.
Treadwell Mine History Tour
This is a self-guided hike along the Treadwell Trail beginning
at Sandy Beach on Douglas Island. A map with information on
the mining history of the area is available at the Juneau-Douglas
City Museum or Davis Log Cabin Visitors Center. The largest
stamp mill in the world (960 stamps) was located here. At
one time, Douglas was the largest city in Alaska.
Tongass Historical Museum
This community was a supply center for area miners before
becoming a fishing town. The museum archives has an excellent
collection of photographs of area mining, and exhibits that
reflect the town's mining roots. "Permanent and temporary
exhibits are displayed as well as traveling exhibitions from
other institutions. (907) 225-5600.
Poker Creek Gold, #18 Creek
A retail store featuring an 8-foot working model of a
sluice box, a spiral gold clean-up wheel, and historic mining
photos and artifacts.
Independence Mine State Historical
The first lode gold claims in the Independence Mine area
were discovered in 1907. The mine had several owners and shut
down and reopened many times before it finally closed its
doors in 1958. Today, the mine is on the National Register
of Historic Places and is a State Historic Park, managed by
the Alaska Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation. Several
buildings are open to the public. Other buildings are being
People may visit the mining
area throughout the year. Ski trails are groomed during the
winter. The park's visitor center and museum is open during
the summer months and guided tours are offered through several
of the mine buildings.
Talkeetna Historical Museum
Gold prospectors first ascended the Talkeetna River in
1896. In 1910, the earliest recorded Denali expeditions
stopped at a trading post located in Talkeetna. Most of the
buildings within the Talkeetna Townsite Historic District,
listed in the National Register of Historic Places, reflect
a small 1917-1940 gold mining community.
Talkeetna Historical Museum
and townsite portrays the lives and homes of gold miners,
early aviators and climbers of Denali. The museum is
open all week during the summer months and weekends in winter.
Museum of Alaska Transportation
The exhibit, "Transportation and Matanuska-Susitna
Gold," tells of the first gold prospectors and miners
in the Willow Creek district. Maps, tools, and vintage photographs
cover the years 1897-1906. This summer, the museum will have
a related exhibit about contemporary gold operations in the
district. (907) 376-1211.
Knik Museum and Musher's
Hall of Fame
During the Upper Cook Inlet Gold Rush era, Knik played
a significant role as a transportation and supply center for
traffic to distant mines. In addition to the gold mining exhibit,
a display will interpret the impact of the Gold Rush on the
Native community. (907)
Dorothy Page Museum Complex
The Dorothy Page Museum (listed in the National Register
of Historic Places) and its Old Wasilla Townsite (situated
immediately behind the museum) reflect Wasilla's role as an
important gateway to the mining districts of Willow, Iditarod
and the far north, as well as representing the commercial
district for early homesteaders.
Alpine Historical Park
(Memorial Day - Labor Day) Situated in the center of a
vital corridor, the park currently exhibits coal mining artifacts.
It also profiles Sutton inhabitants and miners who have contributed
to the area's history.
Trail exhibit is slated to open in 1998 for the centennial
celebration. An exhibit will explain the corridor's history
from Native use through the Gold Rush era to current times.
(For information, contact the
Greater Copper Valley Chamber of Commerce)
Gold prospectors found rich copper deposits in the Wrangell
Mountains in 1899. A few years later the claims were bought
by the Morgan-Guggenheim partnership which built a 191-mile
railroad to transport the ore between 1911 and 1938.
Today, many of the company's
buildings still stand and they have been designated a National
Historic Landmark. Visitors can see the 14-story mill and
hike to the camps and mine entrances in the hills. There is
a lodge in the company town. Also, there are hotels and bed
and breakfasts in the town of McCarthy, a short distance away.
Visitor Information Center
Browse through scrapbooks, historic photo albums, restaurant
menus, bird/wildlife sightings and over 60 brochures and informational
handouts about Nome and Alaska. Slide shows, videos, and National
Park Service lectures are scheduled throughout the peak visitor
months (May, June, July, and August).
Largest Gold Pan in the U.S.
Take your photo next to the largest gold pan in the U.S.,
made from the top of an old Nome fuel tank.
Historical Walking Tour
Take a self-guided walking tour of the few historic buildings
in Nome that survived its numerous fires and floods. A tour
map and photos of the structures are available at the Visitor
Carrie McLain Memorial Museum
Stop by to see artifacts, photos and treasures from Nome's
past. Exhibits include the Gold Rush, Eskimo culture, and
temporary traveling presentations. Videos on the history of
Nome are shown during the visitor seasons.
Pan for Gold on the Beaches
(June-August) Try your luck at panning for gold on the
historic beaches of Nome. A two-mile stretch of beach, owned
by the Alaska Gold Company, has been designated for recreational
mining. There is gold in the sands and it is yours to keep,
but don't expect to strike it rich. Pan anytime day or night.
Gold pans are sold in the local stores. Instruction available.
Count the Gold Dredges
(June-August) Nome has the only operating dredges in Alaska.
These dredges are privately owned and operate 24 hours a day
in the summer months. Over 44 abandoned dredges (or remnants
of) can be seen from Nome's road system.
Tour the Gold Rush City of
(June-August) Learn to pan for gold from a local resident,
see a dog team in action, hear stories of the Iditarod Trail
Dog Sled Race, visit the home of an ivory carver, see an historic
slide show on Nome's gold rush and pet live reindeer on one
of two tours offered in Nome.
Talk with Modern Day Beach
(June-August) Walk down the beach and visit with the people
who come to Nome for the summer to live on the beach and mine
for gold. Be sure to stop by the old mining equipment collected
by the city for a Gold Rush park.
Visit Nome's Elders
(September - May) Visitors are invited to eat lunch at
the XYZ Senior Citizens Center and visit with our long-time
residents, many of whom have seen first hand much of Nome's
history. Friday menus usually include local foods such as
reindeer meat, handpicked blueberries and (depending on availability)
Native foods such as seal and whale meat. No charge for visiting
senior citizens; others are asked to pay a minimal fee.
Palmer Historic Walking Tour
and Colony House
Take a self-guided walking tour of the Colony Historic
District, listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Starting at Palmer Visitor Center the tour culminates with
a visit to the Historic Colony House, a museum recreating
the life-style of a 1935 colonist.
Resurrection Bay Historical
This town was founded during the Gold Rush when developers
tried to build a railroad from a year-round port to the gold
diggings in the Interior. Two companies went bankrupt before
the federal govern-ment finally undertook the project in 1915.
Prior to that time, Seward served
as a winter port for miners from Nome and Iditarod, who followed
the mail route now known as the Iditarod National Historic
The museum has exhibits about
Seward and its role in Alaska's gold rushes. The historical
society has prepared gold rush learning kits and slide programs
that are available at the museum during the summer. (907)
Klondike Gold Rush National
Located in the former White Pass and Yukon Railway depot,
the visitor's center for the park has Gold Rush exhibits and
regular showings of films. Interpreters give special programs
and lead walking tours along Broadway during the summer months.
The park has a number of other properties, including the Moore
Cabin, for visitors to tour. Information about hiking the
Chilkoot Trail is also available. (907)
Trail of '98 Museum
(Winter months upon request; open daily during summer)
The museum's collection of artifacts, memorabilia, photographs,
and historical records cover one hundred years of Skagway
history. The Gold Rush collection of artifacts, the finest
in Alaska, were actually used by the stampeders. Skagway businesses,
schools, churches, social and fraternal organizations and
family life collectibles are all represented in the collection.
Gold Rush Cemetery
Skagway's most famous graveyard is the Gold Rush Cemetery.
Records indicate that the first burial occurred there early
in 1898. With the exception of two families, the cemetery
was no longer used after 1908. One hundred and thirty-three
grave sites have been located there but burial records are
available for only sixty of them.
Skagway's most famous street brings the Gold Rush era
alive every day. Shops, galleries, saloons, and shows provide
a colorful and entertaining experience. Broadway is also the
central business district. Many buildings date to the Gold
Rush or resemble turn-of-the-century structures.
Arctic Brotherhood Hall
The Skagway Arctic Brotherhood Hall, built in 1899, is
perhaps the most photographed building in the state. Over
20,000 individual pieces of driftwood from Skagway beaches
make up the mosaic covering its false front. Currently, the
Trail of '98 Museum is using the building.
Dyea and the Chilkoot Trail
Dyea was settled long ago by the Chilkoot Tlingit. The
trade route established by the Tlingit from Dyea across the
mountains to the interior is called the Chilkoot Trail. During
the first year of the Gold Rush, Dyea rivaled Skagway as the
largest town in Alaska. After the White Pass and Yukon Route
Railroad was opened, Dyea underwent an abrupt decline, leaving
hotels, banks, and stores vacant. Today, all that remains
are some scattered foundation ruins, the rotting stubs of
the two-mile-long wharf, the Slide Cemetery where some 60
victims of the 1898 avalanche on the Chilkoot Trail lay buried,
all poignant reminders of the hardships, uncertainties, and
tragedies of Klondike times. The National Park Service maintains
a ranger station during the summer here to check people crossing
the Chilkoot Pass and give tours of the valley.
Klondike Highway and Trail
The Klondike Highway is one of the most scenic and historic
routes to the Yukon and Interior Alaska. The highway shares
the narrow Skagway River Valley with the White Pass and Yukon
Route Railroad and the historic White Pass Trail of '98. The
highway goes through West White Pass while the other two routes
pass through White Pass. The route leads through the breathtaking
Coast Range with itsgorgeous waterfalls and glaciers to the
pass and Continental Divide, where the headwaters of the Yukon
begin, and on through subarctic terrain and gorgeous lakes.
There are several interpretive stops.
McCabe College Building
This granite masonry building was built in 1899 as a Methodist
College for Women. It had operated less than a year, when
purchased by the U.S. Government, serving the next 60 years
as a courthouse and jail in District Court I, Territory of
Alaska. The City of Skagway took it over in the early 1960s.
The trail can be accessed by
the trail head at King River, just north of Sutton on the
Glenn Highway. It was first blazed in 1898 to try and find
an "All American" route to the gold fields without
having to cross Canadian soil. This scenic trail climbs slowly,
skirting the base of Castle Mountain. Recreational guides
are available for those who prefer to take the trail on horseback.
Make inquiries at the Alpine Heritage Park in Sutton or King
Mountain Lodge in Chickaloon.
Historic Equipment Display
- Mukluk Land
(Summer) See early-day mining equipment, some actually
operating, Alaska Road Commission construction machinery,
old snowmobile collection, and gold panning.
(Summer) Take a day trip from Tok, enjoy the beautiful
scenery, see operating gold mines from the Taylor Highway,
visit the old community of Chicken, see dredges, meet and
talk to modern-day miners. Meet Chicken's famous "Old
Grump." Pan for gold.
Mineral Creek Canyon
Hike, jog, mountain bike, or cross-country ski along and
past gold mining trails. See the remains of an old stamp mill
near the city.
Rafting in Keystone Canyon
(Summer) Embark on your own adventure through spectacular
Keystone Canyon, explored as a military route by Lt. W.R.
Abercrombie in 1898.
(Summer) Experience a convertible, antique touring bus
while viewing the historic sites and structures dating back
to the Gold Rush era. See the Old Town cemetery and the starting
point of the All American Route.
The Valdez Museum and Historical
In 1898, 4,000 prospectors arrived at Valdez en route
to the Klondike Gold Fields via the All American Route across
Valdez Glacier. In 1998, visitors will relive the original
experience through temporary and permanent exhibits. Diaries,
journals, letters, photographs, and objects will reflect the
people and times of the Valdez Gold Rush. If you are related
to anyone who came to Valdez in 1898 - 1902, please contact
the Valdez Museum on the Internet at http://www.valdezmuseum.org/
The Collections Museum is a privately-owned museum full
of wonderful artifacts from Wrangell's colorful past, the
Bigelow family collection, and the Gold Rush days.
The Stikine River served as a route to three gold rushes
between 1861 and 1898 - the Stikine, Cassiar, and Klondike
Gold Rushes. See Cottonwood Island where over 3,000 prospectors
created Stikine City during the harsh winter while waiting
for the river to thaw. In spring, instead of miners you will
see an incredible congregation of bald eagles. See first hand
the route miners traversed in their quest for gold.
Wrangell was the jumping-off point for several gold rushes.
In 1861, gold was discovered on the Stikine River causing
a stampede in 1862. In the early 1870s, thousands of miners
moved through Wrangell on their way to the Cassiar gold fields.
Then in the late 1890s, Wrangell served as a "back-door"
route to the Klondike, with miners traveling up the Stikine
and following various waterways to the headwaters of the Yukon.
Wrangell Museum is a city-owned
museum that chronicles Wrangell's past. In addition to its
displays of Gold Rush history and Alaska's early aviation
and communication history, it boasts the oldest known Tlingit
houseposts in existence.
Rent a Cabin on the Stikine
Reserve any of the 21 remote
U.S. Forest Service Cabins in the Wrangell area available
for rent, including 11 on the Stikine River and tidal flats,
an historical gold route that is still used today. Plane and
boat rentals available to transport you and your gear. Contact
the USFS Wrangell Ranger District at (907)
Valley Performing Arts Theater
Witness a Gold Rush theatrical
performance. Call the Dorothy Page Museum (907) 373-9071 and
Museum of Alaska Transportation and Industry (907) 376-1211
for information on performances held at the Valley Performing
- The Anchorage Museum of History and Art and the Alaska Public
Lands Information Center have exhibits on mining. The museum
also has a collection of Gold Rush paintings.
CENTRAL - See the area's
only surviving roadhouse and a mining museum.
CHICKEN - Log cabins
and the schoolhouse featured in the book Tisha still stand.
The F.E. Co. Dredge #4 at the Chicken Gold Camp has been listed as a National Historic Site and is now open for tours. It is the most complete dredge open to the public in Alaska/Yukon. There are many other historical mining relics adjoining the dredge.
CHITINA - Living ghost
town, several mining era buildings remain. Learn about mining
at Wrangell-St. Elias National Park Visitor Center.
CIRCLE HOT SPRINGS -
Many miners went to the hot springs to relax and it is still
open to the public today.
COLDFOOT - See the old
cemetery. The visitor center has exhibits on mining in the
COPPER CENTER - Trading
post located here in 1896. In 1898-99, 300 prospectors wintered
here. The village became the principal settlement and supply
center in the region.
CORDOVA - Copper, not
gold, built this town. The museum tells about both, however,
because many gold miners passed through or got their supplies
DELTA JUNCTION - Rika's
Roadhouse is part of Big Delta State Historical Park.
DOUGLAS - A walking trail
takes one past remains of the Treadwell Mine, the first load
gold operation in Alaska.
DYEA - Dock pilings
and the cemetery for victims of an avalanche at Chilkoot Pass
are among the remains of the town that was at the base of
the Chilkoot Trail.
EAGLE - A number of buildings
remain, including Fort Egbert, the courthouse and waterhouse.
The historical society has tours and many exhibits.
EAGLE RIVER - The Alaska
Museum of Natural History has exhibits about geology and mining.
FAIRBANKS - Mining relics
include the Chena Pump House, Ester Camp, Chatanika Camp,
Gold Dredge No. 8, and the Davidson Ditch. The University
of Alaska Museum has mining exhibits, including a spectacular
gold case. Alaskaland has several Gold Rush era buildings
and the restored sternwheeler Nenana.
FLAT - Gold Rush relics
include mining equipment, buildings, and houses.
GIRDWOOD - Tour mine
buildings and pan for gold at Crow Creek Mine. Indian Valley
Mine, west of Girdwood, is open for visitors.
HAINES - Visitors can
stay in buildings at Fort Seward, the last of the six posts
established by the army to maintain order during the Gold
Rush. The museum has exhibits about the Chilkat (Dalton)Trail,
known as the freight route during the Gold Rush.
HOPE - Gold Rush buildings
include the log community hall and a mining history museum.
IDITAROD - A ghost town
that was a supply center on the Iditarod Trail.
INDEPENDENCE MINE - A
State Historical Park. Tour mine buildings, study exhibits
in the Manager's House and Assay Office, and hike to the underground
JUNEAU - Many Gold Rush
homes, businesses, and mine buildings remain, including the
remnants of the Alaska Juneau Mining Company. The city and
state museums have mining exhibits.
- Gold mining in the area started in 1905 and continues today.
Stay at a roadhouse and explore the remains of cabins, equipment,
and mines in the area.
KENNICOTT - Stay at a
lodge and see the buildings of the Kennecott Copper Mine and
KETCHIKAN - See Gold
Rush exhibits at the museum, and visit Creek Street, the town's
infamous red light district.
LIVENGOOD - Some buildings
remain in this ghost town.
MANLEY HOT SPRINGS -
The Gold Rush era lodge and hot springs are still in operation.
McCARTHY - Copper miners
came from Kennicott to McCarthy for recreation. There are
historic buildings, lodging and a small museum.
NABESNA - Almost all
the buildings still stand at the mine established in 1929.
NOME - A few Gold Rush
era buildings remain, including the Discovery Saloon and St.
Joseph's Catholic Church. See mining equipment around town
and at the city museum. The discovery sites on Anvil and Snow
Creeks are just outside of town.
RUBY - This Gold Rush
town continues to serve gold miners today. Stay at the historic
roadhouse and view displays of mining artifacts and photographs.
SEWARD - This was the
southern end of the Iditarod Trail. The museum has mining
exhibits and the park has an Iditarod Trail display.
SITKA - The seat of government
for Alaska until 1906. Gold was discovered near here in 1871.
The museum has Gold Rush exhibits.
SKAGWAY - Visitors can
ride the White Pass & Yukon narrow gauge railway to the
summit of White Pass. Many buildings from the Gold Rush era
remain. The city has a museum, and the National Park Service
has a visitors center. The nearby Chilkoot Trail is littered
with cast off equipment and other remains from the Klondike
STEVENS VILLAGE - The
community recreated a woodyard, like the hundreds along the
Yukon, Tanana, and other Interior Alaska rivers that fed the
more-than-200 steam-boats on the rivers during the Gold Rush
TALKEETNA - Visitors
can see log cabins, stores, the Talkeetna Roadhouse, Fairview
Inn, and a museum with mining memorabilia.
TOLOVANA - The roadhouse
was along the trail between Fairbanks and Rampart (Manley
Hot Springs), both mining camps. In 1926, it was a stop on
the famous dog sled relay that began at Nenana and transported
serum to fight an outbreak of diphtheria in Nome.
VALDEZ - Learn about
the Valdez Glacier Trail, Trans-Alaska Military Road, and
mining in the area at the city museum.
WASILLA - The town replaced
Knik in 1917 as the supply center for area mines. Three area
museums tell the story.
WISEMAN - Many charming
log cabins remain; the Wiseman Trading Company has photographs
and mining artifacts.
WRANGELL - Gold was discovered
near here in 1861. Wrangell was a supply town for prospectors
heading to Cassiar and the museum has a Gold Rush exhibit.